top of page
Search

K is for Drama: How this all started...


It all started with a drama.  Or rather... for me it all started with a break-up and a tornado... But what good story doesn't start with some action?


For you to really understand where this passion for Asian entertainment came from, you must first go back....   *Wavy flashback filter*

Two years ago, I was living in Moore, OK... My house was hit by a tornado.   It was a hard time in my life.  And I had recently gone through some relationship crises...  Needless to say when my dad showed up at my door (I was living in a temporary apartment) and asked if I wanted to watch a "Korean Soap Opera,"  I didn't take him serious.


Wait...  Are you confused?  Then let me back up. *Wavy Flashback Filter, Again*


Yes, my father was the one to introduced me to Kdramas (South Korean TV shows, that usually have a very Rom-Com or Romantic Drama feel). I don't know how he got started with them...but to me it wasn't that weird for him to be watching rom-com's. After all, he was the one that watched Lizzie McGuire and Hannah Montana with me back in the day.








I was actually more confused by the fact that he was choosing to watch something with subtitles...




But I could see how, you as an outsider, might think it odd for a 50-something year old man to like a good old rom-com but what can I say... he has a sensitive side. ANYWAY!!!  My dad showed up wanting to me to try this, "Korean Soap Opera"  with him and I thought he was crazy... but I humored him anyway...  I was then introduced to the world of the Kdrama...  But like a lot of love stories, mine and Kdrama's had a rocky start.




I didn't like it... It had a slow start, the subtitles were too hard... the guys were all wearing too much make up...




The humor was just weird... How was I ever going to understand the cultural differences... To be honest I was so messed up from the PTSD caused by the tornado... I don't even really remember it. I do remember the leading man reminded me too much of my ex...


Which I guess is reason enough for anyone to NOT watch something. I did not want to watch more. I politely thanked my dad, for hanging out with me...and moved on.




So in the beginning, this love for Korea...almost didn't happen.


To be continued...

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page